On Röda Sten and Carlos Motta…

Hi and welcome! My name is Jakub and I am new blogger for Letters from Gothenburg and this is my first post! Yay!

Picture: Still from Carlos Motta – Nefandus (2013) Retrieved from http://www.rodasten.com

It´ll be maybe two weeks since I visited “For Democracy There Must Be Love”. An exhibition of works by Columbian artist Carlos Motta in Röda Sten Konsthall. I have to come clean and admit it was my first visit of Röda Sten, even though I planned my visit many times over a year and half I´ve been in Göteborg. I was discouraged by its locality and distance from the city…Well, I couldn´t be more wrong. If you hop on tram number 3 from Brunnsparken, you´re there in few minutes. The tram stop is Vagnhallen Majorna, walk under the highway towards Klippan and you´re almost there. I was a bit surprised by size of a place. My impression from photos I saw was that it is much smaller place. Don´t get me wrong, the building itself is not huge, if you´re talking square metres, but it´s a really generous space. I really like the mix of large open spaces with more private rooms, with contrast of ruff, industrial parts and more slick, designed areas. And there is also a nice restaurant I want to try! Definitely cool place to visit and Carlo Motta´s exhibition is just another reason to do so!

In his works, Carlos Motta is questioning constructions of history, sexuality and gender. He is using different formats such as installation, sculpture, video or documentary. Before you enter the exhibition you can take some prints regarding his work. One of them is called “Shapes of freedom” and it is a timeline of events important not just for homosexual community.

When you enter the second floor there is a video projection of “Nefandus Trilogy”, three films about homo-eroticism of pre-Hispanic cultures and its stigmatization during European colonization. There is also a model of colonial ship and story of an explorer who was writing letters to his male-lover. Together with small-scale sculptures inspired by indigenous people, this part of the exhibition connects contemporary queer culture with European and South American history.

Next two floors contains a huge amount of information on questions of identity, democracy, political memory and queer movement in form of books, videos and databases. To be honest, I went through it very briefly, because I was overwhelmed by amount of information I got in second floor.

Röda Sten is a place I´ll visit soon again and you should do it too!

All the best,

Jakub

PS: For Democracy There Must Be Love ends on March 22. More info here.

2 thoughts on “On Röda Sten and Carlos Motta…

Leave a Reply

