A new everything!

I can remember exactly the day I got the results that said I could come and do my master degree in Sweden 🙂 . Amazing day! It changed my life. At first you feel so happy and excited that you do not even think that you will have to leave everything you know :/ … Some people might be discouraged by this fact but I would like to tell you that it is something that should push you to engage in a new adventure.

GU

                You might not be an adventurous and spontaneous person. Anyway, you do not need to be. You only need to know what you want in life. In my case, the opportunity to study in a European university was just too much! Something I did not even dream about when I started my studies. Even better, a Swedish University, a country where science is highly valuated and innovation is number one in  their education.

gtg

                I will not lie to you, I know that to change country, leave your family and friends is a bit scary. You should not focus on these things or you will stay in a static environment your whole life and regret it soon, very soon!!! The one thing I have learned from being far away from home is to valorize  everything I had in there. You will miss it, for sure,  but you will also learn better than if you stay there. To live in another country and meet people all over the world opens your mind in a way that you will never imagine. It expands your world beyond words. You will meet the best people, people that you will never have the chance to know if you stay exactly where you are now!

fam

                Another thing that I love about having the experience of studying abroad is how different the education works. I like to compare was better here and was better back home and to know that this experience is making me a better scientist with a broader knowledge of how the world works.

I can assure you that you will fall in love soooo much with the place, that at the end of your studies it will be your second home. If you do not believe me, just look for someone who has done exchange studies and they will tell you ;). At the beginning I did not even realized how far away from home Sweden was. I did not care. 7 hours difference; one day of travelling, one ocean between my family and me. So you think about the sacrifice of being away and the advantages of it. In my case, the well being of my sisters and the hope to give them a better future made me realize that distance is nothing nowadays. That the opportunity to study in a country as Sweden is something you just cannot miss :D.

map

This is how without hesitate I told my parents and friends that I was moving to Sweden next fall; and here I am now. Living the experience of my life. Getting to know Swedish culture and many others, learning languages and how to cook meals from every country 🙂 . You will feel the proud of representing your own country. You will love to share your culture and teach others about your home, as much as you will love to learn from theirs.

I have no words to tell you the great experience that is to study in a city as Gothenburg. You will have to come and see by yourself! I hope we will meet really soon 🙂 .

“Don’t be afraid of your fears. They’re not there to scare you. They’re there to let you know that something is worth it.”

C. Joy Bell

Vi ses snart!

Naza 🙂 

Leave a Reply

