Big vs Little London

There was a plan; a budget; an itinerary of potential ‘potentials’, but now, taking sip to my third kaffe refill, my plan is recycling itself in this Great Scandinavian Eco-system.

photo 1

When I sat in London pondering on where I should live I need not have worried. The old ‘metro’ map from which I used to judge distance has been throw out, now I can catch the handsome sea blue tram that glides down Avenyn, sail across the estuary taking sight of the grandeur ships and towering arms of the cranes. Never mind that you won’t understand these ‘ticket machines’ on board these stealthy crafts, your monthly pass will get you as far away as the islands. So I forget you London, I am no sardine in your can. I crawl home now, late in the night because here in Gothenburg I’ll be home in a flash and all the while curing a hangover in this impeccable Swedish air.

photo 2                   photo 4

The last six weeks have been special and entirely due to the people I’ve met, my classmates, all 130+ of them who are fantastically supportive of each other, the woman whose smile made me fall over a stack of shelves at the local supermarket, the waiter who gave me a free coffee the day I arrived – sorry I dropped it!, the waitress at the university cafe who teaches me Swedish every morning, the tram driver who ran around naked in my apartment and I’m not sure why?, the Erasmus students who live at the Kings Head, my Swedish friend Julia who offered me a place to stay when I arrived, the Rotary Pub who have given me a job behind the bar, the warm locals who I’ve gotten to know, in particular Alex who gave me a wonderful tour of the city before travelling to India and my flatmates, Chris; Michael; Jacob; Riyaz and Vala but more on them later as they are very much part of my story.

photo 3

This blog will be an interaction, a dialogue with the people who live here, finding out why and how they do the things they way they do, what makes Gothenburg so often referred to as ‘Little London’ a unique place to live and somewhere along the way, I’ll be finding myself in here too.

6 thoughts on “Big vs Little London

    1. All the student houses in the central Gothenburg should be worth the money. Olofshöjd is bustling with international students and their parties, it’s also one the largest complexes. The Rotary has a more relaxed feel with many more Swedes in residence but equally good with a BBQ area, pool room and pub. Viktor Rydberg has a music room and a in-house bar which always seems to be buzzing.

      I’d rather say, the houses on campus equal out, well equipped laundry rooms, saunas, sport halls and so on but it might be worth to stay in a corridor/dorm room with a shared kitchen if your new in town and want to be social as opposed to a one/two room apartment. The houses are not so far apart either, just a few minutes from each other. The only ones would hesitate to consider in my first year would be north of the river and east due to the distance travelling home at night when buses/trams are fewer. While Avenyn has shops, restaurants and main stream clubs, Andra Långgatan ( 2nd Long Street) is lined with small indie-bars and so living here could pay off pretty well! I believe there are a number of campus houses here too.

      Here’s a map of the student houses form SGS. http://www.sgsstudentbostader.se/en/housing-info/our-apartments/central-goteborg

      1. Thanks for the tip! I’m currently deciding between Olofshöjd and Rosendal (Could I check if the IT faculty is located in the east of Gothenburg?). Would you recommend Rosendal should I prefer to be located near the IT faculty?

      2. The IT Faculty is at Lindholmen, north of the river, to the east. It would take about 30-40mins from Olofshöjd to Lindholmen. I haven’t been to Rosendal, it looks further from the city center and I suspect that coming home after going out in the city is going to hurt. It doesn’t look much closer to Lindholmen either.

        There isn’t much going on at Lindholem after dark as far as I know so I prefer to live as near to the city center as possible. I hope it helps!

  1. Can you tell us about your “finding housing” experience please?! I’m looking to study abroad in GBG in January, and I have no idea how/where to start!!!

    1. You can register with SGS http://www.sgsstudentbostader.se/en/applying-info/how-to-apply. There is a waiting list as housing in Gothenburg is in demand, however you can contact the SGS at the end of each month and if there are any rooms not taken you can rent them immediately and effectively jump the queue which is a valid approach. For private/ 2nd housing see http://www.blocket.se/goteborg?ca=15 . The housing situation improves from January as many of the Erasmus students leave.

Leave a Reply

