White Christmas in Gothenburg!

I did my first ever Swedish Christmas this week. It was a great day! You can check out some of my photos below. Some things that I forgot to capture was…

  • arts and crafts with the kids, or “pysslar” we made homemade snowglobes.
  • When I was downstairs playing with the little ones, I heard a large knock on the window…and the kids started yelling and running…slightly startled I realized it was santa or Jultomten! He came inside the house just long enough to drop off a huge sack of presents and say “God Jul och Gott Nytt År!” It was incredible, ha Swede’s really know how to capture the true spirit of Santa. I still don’t know who that was! lol.
  • Right when I arrived I as welcome by big hugs (thats how Swedes greet each other) and a warm mug of this years Glögg (which had ginger flavor!) Apparently, every year Sweden comes out with a new Glögg flavor. Yummy!
  • We ended the night with a present game that included everyone bringing two gifts one costing 30 SEK and one 50 SEK, then two rounds of rolling dice and being able to steal peoples presents with a timer set. When the bell rang, everyone had 1 or more presents. I could not stop laughing…something about seeing grandpa continuously stealing from my boyfriend cracked me up! haha. What a wonderful holiday this Jul was. Now, I look forward to my trip to Paris for New years!

God Jul och Gott Nytt År Allihopa! 🙂

2 thoughts on “White Christmas in Gothenburg!

  1. Looks like you had a great time!! It’s my fourth Swedish Christmas and I’m still trying to absorb it all! That dish with the anchovies is AMAZING by the way- you don’t really taste them as much as you expect.

    1. Haha, that is exactly what my boyfriend said! Ok, next time I’ll be brave and give it a go. 😉 Glad you enjoyed your Svensk Jul also.

Leave a Reply

