Plans Have Changed!

Hej hej!

Phew… I have a lot of blogging to catch up on! These first few weeks of school and work have been crazy in the most fantastic way possible.

I started off in the master’s program for Genomics and Systems Biology. During the past two weeks, I have been enjoying class in the morning, research in the afternoon, and lots of really fun social events with international students in the evening. I found that I really liked my classmates (and continually ran into them at social events!), was very interested in the course topics, and even that I enjoy learning programming with Linux in the computer lab (a nice surprise)!

However……………….

I came to Sweden (and the University of Gothenburg, specifically) to have my own research project in a world renowned laboratory. And, unfortunately, with all the time and effort required by the master’s program, it really was not leaving me with the amount of time necessary to dedicate to being the head of a large research project, even with large amounts of coffee!

I was definitely initially sad to have to drop out of the master’s program, but now I am excited to put 110% into this project and be a part of something really amazing for cystic fibrosis research 😀

In my next post, I’ll show you what I’m up to in the lab! For now, it is time to meet some wonderful new friends at the pub.

Hej då!

Leave a Reply

